I Ain’t Got Time to Waste

When I met Andy Turner aka Aim I was in Manchester UK touring with Rae & Christian. It’s somewhat of a long story but I will make it short as possible. My friend and old production partner Tony D (RIP) had released a LP called “Pound for Pound” on Grand Central Records based out of Manchester. Tony had scheduled a six city tour and mentioned my name to Mark Rae one of the owners of the label. Mark asked Tony if he thought I’d be interested in doing the tour with him to help promote his LP. Tony called me and I accepted his offer.

While I was there Rae & Christian were recording their debut LP “Northern Sulphuric Soul”. They ask me if I was interested in being featured on the LP, of course I said yes. Mark gave me a track and we went into their studio to record the song “Now I lay me Down”. The track that we originally recorded to ended up being used on the same LP with another artist, “Jeru The Damaja.” Mark and Steve (Christian) took the song I recorded and produced a new track around what I had recorded. I thought the new version fit the topic better however the flow sounded much better over the original track. I wished they had asked me to re-record the song but it didn’t quite work out that way.

After the release of “NSS”, Rae & Christian lined up a string of Summer Festival dates and ask if I would be interested in coming to Europe for a few months to tour. I jumped at the chance to tour with some of the Worlds most talented artist. I met a great deal of people on that tour. James Brown, George Duke, Buena Vista Social Club, Zap Mama, Lamb, Massive Attack and many more.

In between dates I lived in Manchester with some friends of Steve, Ali and Gaina. They were very warm and kind to me on my visit. I got to see Manchester United win a match. It was a memorable experience to say the least. I also became closely aquainted with several of Grand Central’s recording artist Veba, Peter Parker, Kate Rogers, Funky Fresh Few and of course, Aim.

Aim (Andrew Turner) and I recorded two songs together, “From here to fame” and “I ain’t got time to waste”. Both songs were featured on his debut LP “Cold Water Music. I did a few spot dates with Andy during this period as well. Although his LP wasn’t out yet he had a nice following as a DJ. We would do a small routine near the end of his set.  I remember one of the gigs was in London with a group called High & Mighty. That night High & Mighty brought Eminem on stage to perform one of their songs with them. I spoke briefly with Em before the show, he had been a listener of my music. After the show we all hung out, had a few drinks and took some pictures. I also had the pleasure of meeting his manager Paul Rosenberg and the late “Proof”(RIP) that same night.

After I had returned to America I had gotten word that Aim had released “Cold Water Music”.  Shortly after I received a call to inform me that our song “I Ain’t Got Time To Waste” had been chosen for “Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater”.

Leave a Comment